Featured Posts

A Chain Mail Victim’s Hilarious MailA Chain Mail Victim’s Hilarious Mail Hi Pals, I am writing this post after a very long time because I was suffering from my health problems and was not able to sit in front of my computer. But I am sure that this post will give you...

Readmore

Indian Rupee Got its Own SymbolIndian Rupee Got its Own Symbol This post is not related to seo or Blogging, but I thought I shall share it with you all, as I am feeling very proud that Indian Currency has got its own symbol. The symbol combines the Devnagri “Ra”...

Readmore

How to Block an IP from Accessing Your WebsiteHow to Block an IP from Accessing Your Website Some days before i was checking logs of one of my website related to travel and i found that an IP was sucking a lot of bandwidth from my hosting account. But the website (the IP) was not sending any visitor...

Readmore

Namecheap Coupon Code for July 2010Namecheap Coupon Code for July 2010 The NameCheap.Com (aff link) is my favorite domain reseller registrar and I book all my domains from them, Infact I have registered over 70 domains with them, because in my opinion they have the cheapest...

Readmore

Adsense Revenue Share Secret is Finally OutAdsense Revenue Share Secret is Finally Out The great secret of Adsense revenue share with Google and publishers is finally out and the company took this step for greater transparency in their operations. The percentage of revenue which Google...

Readmore

  • Prev
  • Next

Gmail Phishing Scam in Circulation Updates

Posted on : 01-02-2010 | By : rituraj | In : General, Google

1

Yesterday I had written a post about an email which pretends to be from Gmail team, which requested information about account details, browsers etc. you can read it here: Gmail Phishing Scam in Circulation Do not Reply

Today I received another email regarding the same, but the style of convincing to reply looks a little official. This is the email which I received:

Gmail is experiencing congestion causing slow network due to unused accounts registerred by most of our Users. Google Team want to remove/eliminate all unused/unwanted accounts.

Gmail also want to know how often you use your Account . Send us your domain login below for verification and for your account not to be shut down unexpectedly.

Account:
Password:
Birth date:
Country:

Warning!!!   Account owner that refuses to update his or her account within Seven days of receiving this warning will lose his or her account permanently.

Thanks Gmail!

G MAI L BETA

Have you noticed something, there are spelling and grammatical mistakes in the message. (I do not think that Gmail team will hire a 10 grade kid to write and send warning emails on their behalf :) ) They wanted to know how often I use my Gmail account, what a silly question? :) They already know how often and from which geographic locations (IPs) I login, which browser, operating system I use and more..

In the previous email, I tried to track the sender’s IP, and it was located at some place in South Africa.

In today’s email I tried to track the return path. Have a look below what I got
Return-Path: <karpoffaffiliates@gmail.com>
Received-SPF: pass (google.com: domain of karpoffaffiliates@gmail.com designates 10.239.193.19 as permitted sender) client-ip=10.239.193.19;Authentication-Results: mr.google.com; spf=pass (google.com: domain of karpoffaffiliates@gmail.com designates 10.239.193.19 as permitted sender) smtp.mail=karpoffaffiliates@gmail.com; dkim=pass header.i=karpoffaffiliates@gmail.com
Received: from mr.google.com ([10.239.193.19])
Sender: karpoffaffiliates@gmail.com
Received: by 10.239.193.19 with SMTP id g19mt77889hbi.207.1264948501790;

It is a little technical jargon, but we are not going to mess with it. The things important for us are the Return-Path (which is karpoffaffiliates@gmail.com)

I just Googled the email id karpoffaffiliates@gmail.com, and look what I found

karpoff

When you will visit first 2, 3 listing you can easily find that the email belongs to KARPOFF AFFILIATES LLC.

karpoffaffiliates

Visit here: http://www.dealmakers.net/ads/ad_det.asp?id=1554 and you can get the whole picture.

So after doing all these research I am still unsure whether these emails are being sent by Gmail these, or some scammers. :)

But for your own safety, DO NOT REPLY.

Hope you all have found this post useful.

What is your opinion on this, please post in comments.

Do not forget to follow me on Twitter for updates.

Bookmark & Share!!!
[Connotea] [del.icio.us] [Digg] [diigo] [Facebook] [Fark] [Faves] [LinkedIn] [Netvouz] [Reddit] [Squidoo] [StumbleUpon] [Technorati] [Twitter] [Yahoo!]

Popularity: 9% [?]

Comments (1)

Keep posting stuff like this i really like it

Write a comment