Featured Posts

Indian Rupee Got its Own SymbolIndian Rupee Got its Own Symbol This post is not related to seo or Blogging, but I thought I shall share it with you all, as I am feeling very proud that Indian Currency has got its own symbol. The symbol combines the Devnagri “Ra”...

Readmore

How to Block an IP from Accessing Your WebsiteHow to Block an IP from Accessing Your Website Some days before i was checking logs of one of my website related to travel and i found that an IP was sucking a lot of bandwidth from my hosting account. But the website (the IP) was not sending any visitor...

Readmore

Namecheap Coupon Code for July 2010Namecheap Coupon Code for July 2010 The NameCheap.Com (aff link) is my favorite domain reseller registrar and I book all my domains from them, Infact I have registered over 70 domains with them, because in my opinion they have the cheapest...

Readmore

Adsense Revenue Share Secret is Finally OutAdsense Revenue Share Secret is Finally Out The great secret of Adsense revenue share with Google and publishers is finally out and the company took this step for greater transparency in their operations. The percentage of revenue which Google...

Readmore

NameCheap Coupon Code for June 2010NameCheap Coupon Code for June 2010 NameCheap is a premiere company which deals in domain name booking, web hosting, VPS hosting and SSL Certificate selling. Every month they issue a coupon code from which one can have a rebate of a dollar...

Readmore

  • Prev
  • Next

Phishing Gmail Message in Circulation Do not Reply

Posted on : 31-01-2010 | By : rituraj | In : General, Google

5

I received a message couple of days before which claimed to be from Gmail accounts department, stating that my account has been automatically chosen for permanent deletion and I must reply with some information like account name, password, date of birth, country for verification. If I fail to so they will delete my account permanently within a week.

Just have a look what I have got.

From: Gmail <account-support@gmeasdcenter.com>
Reply-to:  Gmail <verifyscecences@gmail.com>
To:  accounts@google.com
Date: Fri, Jan 29, 2010 at 5:26 AM
Subject            : Your Account

We are shutting down some email accounts and your account was automatically chosen to be deleted. If you are still interested in using our email service please fill in the space below for verification purpose by clicking the reply button. Learn more

Account:
Password:
Birth date:
Country:

Warning!!! Account owner that refuses to update his or her account within Seven days of receiving this warning will lose his or her account permanently.

Thank you for using Gmail!

The Gmail Team

GMAIL

Some of my fiends also reported the same issue, in addition to the above information they were also asked to provide:

Please Also Include:

Operating system (e.g. WinXP):
Program and version you use to access Gmail (e.g. Internet Explorer 7 or Outlook 2003):
Your antivirus software (e.g. Norton 2007):
Any extensions, toolbars or plug-ins:

A thought struck in my mind that why would Gmail need my password, if they want to verify my account they could do it by using phone verification or some other method and why would they need the data about my operating system, my browser, my antivirus software and other stuff, when they can easily track it (and they do it for sure :) ).

So I gave a deeper look to the email and I found that the originating IP of the email was 41.19.212.145, and when I traced back the IP, see what got.

ip trace

Tracing was done through a proxy which is situated on a server in US. So the map shows, starting from location India to the proxy in US and then to the IP which is being traced.

It was from some unknown location in Africa, now I was wondering that when Gmail shifted their headquarters to Africa and are they recruiting tribals as their operating staff. :) :) :)

So beware and do not reply to such emails and need not to be panic.

Bookmark & Share!!!
[Connotea] [del.icio.us] [Digg] [diigo] [Facebook] [Fark] [Faves] [LinkedIn] [Netvouz] [Reddit] [Squidoo] [StumbleUpon] [Technorati] [Twitter] [Yahoo!]

Popularity: 46% [?]

Comments (5)

Hi,

i received the same email and sadly i replied them but i have not given them my password, but all other information like my address and phone number is correct, what do you think, if they cause me any problem.. Thanks for your information

@ Jonathan, do not worry you are safe, they can not hack your account if you haven’t given your password. the most they can do, is they will sell your address and phone number to companies which generate leads for sellers who promote cheap and unauthorized products..

In a nutshell you need not to worry

Social comments and analytics for this post…

This post was mentioned on Twitter by riturajmishra: Gmail Phishing scam in circulation, beware http://www.riturajmishra.com/2010/01/phishing-gmail-message-in-circulation-do-not-reply/…

I have used Kontera on one of my blogs and i earn good from this ad program.”‘”

i would prefer Infolinks over Kontera because they pay much better.;;*

Write a comment